Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Has anyone had any dealings with....

Article about: Great War Militaria based in Pennsylvania? Are they reliable? (I've done a search here but haven't found anything that indicates a yea or nay). Relates to a previous post: http://www.warreli

I have acquired items from them over the past 25 years off and on. When I was a novice with Imperial German items in the late 80's and living overseas I cam across some items in Japan that were traded to the port market vendors by soviet sailors out of Vladivostok, some pickelhaube etc. I didn't know much about them then but had bought some books from GWM to study before buying items, I mailed them (things went slower then and the items were out of the way and in no danger of being sold) questions with some snapshots. They wrote back quickly and informatively and were nothing but gentlemen and made no effort to discourage me from buying these items in preference to theirs. I have bought things from them periodically as one is wont to do when interesting items pop up and I agree that for the most part they are accurately described and have a no quibble return approach. No surprise that there are a variety of 'opinions' about the legitimacy of items but such is the life of a collector. As with ALL dealers, you have an obligation to know your stuff and be educated about what you are buying otherwise I think you can't always place the exclusive onus on a dealer, as they can often handle many variations of items etc. And dealers can be wrong, and collectors are not faultless either. My only peeve about them is the poor quality and selection of images of sale items on the website, but I also don't think they've updated their site format since about 1998.