Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Help Identifying This Artillery Pickelhaube

Article about: Hello Everyone, I need some help identify a recent purchase. Yesterday I was in an art gallery in Northern Nj. Sitting right on the fireplace mantle was this beautiful helmet. It was labeled

Default Help Identifying This Artillery Pickelhaube

Hello Everyone,

I need some help identify a recent purchase. Yesterday I was in an art gallery in Northern Nj. Sitting right on the fireplace mantle was this beautiful helmet. It was labeled "WWI Drummer Boys Helmet". I am no expert, but I know there was no drummer boy wearing this Artillery Officers helmet. To the best of my ability it looks all original. The chin scales and leather strap are definitely original. It looks like its never been worn. The lining on the inside has come un done a bit, but other than that, its in nearly perfect condition. The wappen has what looks to be a small colonial eagle soldered in between the legs. This is something I have never seen before. Perhaps a veteran of a colonial occupation? One other things I would like to know is, what was that little loop on the underside of the back rim used for? If anyone would care to share their oppinion it would be much appeciated.

Thanks kindly,

Jess
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Help Identifying This Artillery Pickelhaube   Help Identifying This Artillery Pickelhaube  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Help Identifying This Artillery Pickelhaube
    P
    Many

Default Re: Help Identifying This Artillery Pickelhaube

More images needed to I.D. it looks O.K. on the interior, Officers or one year volunteer private purchase..would need to see images of top side, by the distortions/depressions on the inside of the crown, I would say cruciform spike mount...no idea on the rear spine fastner.
    Prost ! Steve.

You downloaded the images as I posted......I will evaluate....
    Prost ! Steve.