Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here

Imperial German bank notes?

Article about: Hi all. I am a complete novice here, so I have no idea if this is real. It is blank on the reverse so I have doubts... If I am in the wrong area, please feel free to move this post. Regards,

Default Imperial German bank notes?

Hi all.

I am a complete novice here, so I have no idea if this is real.
    It is blank on the reverse so I have doubts...

If I am in the wrong area, please feel free to move this post.

Regards,

Brian.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Imperial German bank notes?  

Default re: Imperial German bank notes?

German inflation money from the 1920s...
    Glenn

Later than Imperial - it is dated 1923. I believe these were printed on one side only and were issued in ever increasing values during the period of hyper-inflation in the 1920s.

Some more shown here:

German Hyperinflation Banknotes

Richie is right.

The banknotes of the hyperinflation period were eventually printed on one side only; this is normal.

I cannot comment on authenticity, although I would be surprised if these are heavily faked. As for value, I can't give you a figure, either, but one thing's for sure: It's well below the bill's five million denomination!

Thanks for the info. I need to check my dates.

I assume they are common items then.

Brian.

Brian

If you use Google you will find dealers selling these notes - had a quick look and they don't seem especially valuable although there could be rare variations I suppose.

Sadly, not worth 5 million in any currency today

An interesting little piece of history nevertheless.

Regards

Richie

Brian: Your 1923 Reichsbanknote might not seem to be very valuable, but it is an excellent artifact from an historical period that had a major impact on events and played a large role the rise of Adolf Hitler. Your Reichsbanknote represents the period and the events.