Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Are these Kokarden original?

Article about: I am new to the field of Pickelhauben and have been doing my research but have yet to find definitive data of aspects of original Kokarden. My recent M95 purchase arrived with the following

Default Are these Kokarden original?

I am new to the field of Pickelhauben and have been doing my research but have yet to find definitive data of aspects of original Kokarden. My recent M95 purchase arrived with the following Kokarden which are in remarkable condition given they should be at least 100 years old, they are non-magnetic (suggesting pressed brass) but have such good paint coverage I can't see if the material is in fact brass or not. They are non-maker marked so my question is thus: are they original? are the photos good enough to tell? should I provide measurements or weights?

Are these Kokarden original?Are these Kokarden original?Are these Kokarden original?Are these Kokarden original?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Are these Kokarden original?
    P
    Many

?

They certainly appear to be good ones for enlisted helmets. Just enough of the appropriate age to the paint.
    Usually they are made of steel.

The paint does appear to be well aged, I would lean toward original.

They look fine. No worries there.
    William

"Much that once was, is lost. For none now live who remember it."

Quote by SteveR View Post
    They certainly appear to be good ones for enlisted helmets. Just enough of the appropriate age to the paint.
    Usually they are made of steel.
    Thats good to know as they came off an EM helmet!

I am sure they aren't magnetic though, and on a dealer site Great War Militaria - Great War Militaria a kokarde that is described as original is mentioned as being of stamped brass so I assumed that was the usual material of construction. I will try a stronger magnet on mine tonight and see if any attraction is found.