Espenlaub Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

American or British bayonet?

Article about: Hi all, I have come into possession of this bayonet. I have been told mixed things, one being its british made for the American army and others saying its American made for the british! Ther

?

Default American or British bayonet?

Hi all,

I have come into possession of this bayonet. I have been told mixed things, one being its british made for the American army and others saying its American made for the british!
    There is also confusion as to whether this is WW1 or WW2.

Sorry for what might be a simple question but I am new to all this. The bayonet is marked Remmington 1913. There is also what looks like a crown and the number 17.

Thanks everyone.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture American or British bayonet?   American or British bayonet?  

American or British bayonet?   American or British bayonet?  

American or British bayonet?  

It's a P13 bayonet, made to fit the P14 rifle. These were made in the USA, and supplied to British forces in both WWI and WWII, to supplement stocks of Lee Enfield rifles. Both the rifles and bayonets were largely employed by the Home Guard during WWII, as well as other second line units.

The arrow and crown stamps are British, known as Broad Arrow markings, added to the bayonet after adoption by the British Army.

Regards, B.B.

?

Okay thanks for all that great info. Is there a way of telling when this would've actually been made/used. It would be interesting to know if it was indeed WW1 or WW2.

Quote by Ell137 View Post
    Okay thanks for all that great info. Is there a way of telling when this would've actually been made/used. It would be interesting to know if it was indeed WW1 or WW2.
    It was made during the WWI period. It looks like it was initially manufactured in 1913, and possibly refurbished in 1917. I'm afraid I don't know all that much about American bayonets.