Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

William Mooney and the First Tank Action

Article about: I thought I'd post the rather surprising results of a little family tree research I've been doing recently. I'm a complete amateur so any corrections or new information appreciated. My fathe

Default William Mooney and the First Tank Action

I thought I'd post the rather surprising results of a little family tree research I've been doing recently. I'm a complete amateur so any corrections or new information appreciated.

My father died just after I was born and my grandfather long before that so I never knew much about the paternal side of my family. It turned out my grandfather had a brother, William, who had been "killed in the war". An elderly relative offered to lend me an old photo album which she thought might be helpful and I've posted copies of some of the contents below.

The first thing I read was notification that 22334 Private William Mooney of 6th KOYLI was killed on 15 September 1916 and is commemorated at the Thiepval Memorial. Some basic research indicated that the only action 6th KOYLI was involved in on that date was immediately before the launch of the Battle of Flers-Courcelette on The Somme. Two companies were detailed to expel a pocket of Germans between Delville Wood and Ginchy in support of three tanks. I was amazed to read this was the first use of the tank in warfare.

This account is from Chris McCarthy's book "The Somme - The Day-By-Day Account":

"Two companies of 6th KOYLI (43 Brigade) and three tanks were detailed to expel pockets of Germans to the east of Delville Wood before zero hour. At 05:15hrs only one tank (D1) was operational but it started forward from Pilsen Lane, followed 15 minutes later by KOYLI's bombers. The tank was immobilized by a shell. The KOYLI came under machine-gun fire on the rear of their right flank. This was settled by bomb and bayonet."

From another forum I read this about the same action: