Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Luftwaffe M43 Cap

Article about: Hi all, I recently picked up my first M43 and was very excited to receive it today, But when I pulled it out of the box it seemed very smashed. Is it normal for them to sit like this when th

?

Default Luftwaffe M43 Cap

Hi all,

I recently picked up my first M43 and was very excited to receive it today, But when I pulled it out of the box it seemed very smashed. Is it normal for them to sit like this when they aren't on a head form? I understand it is a field cap and meant to be worn roughly but it looks like Göring sat on it!

When I insert a sponge to simulate a head it looks ok.

Not sure if I should ask for a refund or if this is normal for these, since this is my first time holding one.

Thanks

Luftwaffe M43 CapLuftwaffe M43 Cap
    Luftwaffe M43 Cap

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Luftwaffe M43 Cap
    P
    Many

?

Yes, this is normal, there are no stiffeners in these, the idea with the sponge is good. You can (carefully) steam and iron it and it will look great. There is some advice on the forum how to display/store caps, have a look yourself, e. g. here:

Visor cap display solutions?

or here:

Reshaping a Visor

?

Thanks for clearing that up, ErWeSa.

Ill probably just leave it how it is, as I don't trust myself to mess with something like this. I bought a nice glass head for it to sit on but unfortunately it was too big. ill keep looking around or maybe build a stand to hold it up with the sponge in it.

+1 yep normal, mine's like a pan cake!

?

I've been looking around and I found this on amazon, Looks like it should do the trick. Its a cork filled canvas head. What do you guys think?
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Luftwaffe M43 Cap  

?

They work very well. Mine is smaller than the glass heads I have.
    Luftwaffe M43 Cap

Congrats on that excellent Lufty M43.

Semper Fi
    Phil