Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

KIA group with EKII and IAB

Article about: I have been offered this group for £225. New collector of german awards so seems like a nice thing to start it up. Do you think it's a decent deal? Group of two Brothers. 1 was in Infanterie

The new scans include some sections of the Wehrpass not seen in the first batch of scans.

I can't edit my original post anymore; so here is a slightly expanded and updated version that includes the "new" data:

Erich Piszczek was born in Düsseldorf on 4th December 1914. His parents were the saddler or upholsterer* Erich Piszczek sen. and his wife Auguste Piszczek, née Kleinschmidt.

Erich Piszczek was a natural-born German citizen. He was single and of Protestant faith. Originally a machine fitter by trade, he later became a policeman.**

Volunteering for the army at 20 years of age, he had a medical examination by the Düsseldorf draft board on 26th April 1935. He was found fit for military service and, for the time being, taken into the Ersatz-Reserve [i.e. the replacement reserves, consisting of men who were subject to conscription, but were neither on active status nor with any of the other reserve categories].

On 31st August 1937, he was called up for the cavalry regiment stationed at Paderborn with service scheduled to start in the autumn of that year.

Erich reported for duty with the 3. Schwadron of Kavallerie-Regiment 15, based at the Neuhaus-Kaserne in Paderborn. He remained with this unit for the better part of his active service, except for a period from 15th May 1936 through 1st February 1937, during which he was detailed to his regiment's armory.

After passing his medical entry examinations on 30th October 1935, he was officially taken into the army on 1st November 1935 (with service time counting since 1st October 1935) and took his oath on 7th Nov. 1935.