Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here

My Modest Greek collection

Article about: Hello everyone, this is my little Greek delight. enjoy

Default My Modest Greek collection

Hello everyone, this is my little Greek delight. enjoy
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture My Modest Greek collection   My Modest Greek collection  

My Modest Greek collection   My Modest Greek collection  

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement My Modest Greek collection
    P
    Many

?

Default re: My Modest Greek collection

Very nice.

Default re: My Modest Greek collection

Nice collection of Mediterranean militaria

Thanks

Burt

Default Re: My Modest Greek collection

Are they WW2 ? If so I would like to know what they awarded for, they look amazing

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

thanks everyone! Nick, most of them are from WWII. ill go from left to right;

Military Merit Medal (3rd class)- was instituted formally by Royal Decree on June 30th 1917 and the name changed to the ‘Medal of Military Merit’. The medal continued to be issued during and after World War II but in 1974, following the abolition of the Greek monarchy, this new version was issued with the original central phoenix being replaced by the emblem of the Hellenic Republic. It is awarded in three classes to officers for meritorious conduct and loyal service. (this is the one modern Greek medal i own)

The War Cross of 1940- was instituted on November 11th of that year in three classes to be awarded for acts of courage in combat during World War II. originally class awarded depended on rank, in 1942 that changed. first time award would be in bronze, second in silver and third gold.