Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

New War Room - You can help!

Article about: Still nice bowls. Rich A. in Pa.

Default Re: New War Room - You can help!

Hey Vegar and folks of the forum, I'm just a newb to the militaria thing but have collected antiques for a while and heres my opinions on storage and display of items. Firstly if you have a rather valuable and large collection of items then proper storage is essential to keep items as preserved as possible for to maximize resale value,or for passing on to family members your collection and foremost to preserve these irreplaceable items of history because once they're destroyed or damaged they usually are forever. Proper storage and displaycan be almost as expensive as items themselves, but a commonly overlooked thing sometimes. Bottom line you just about get what you pay for,and IMO cheap is not the way to go. If you have the luxury of designing room for storage & display & budget as well here's what i would do. get dark curtains if a natural light window is present as well as install UV filtering film on window.Temp & humidity are crucial factors to consider especially for uniforms,cloth items,flags, etc. maintain even & constant humidity & temp.(consider where vents are if central AC is used & keep objects or direct airflow away from items),use filters & change often on air appliances(consider air purifier in room)dust can be problem.Avoid carpet if poss. can house insects & dust,install pest traps(sticky simple ones not chemical)to monitor pests especially silverfish.Get humidity & light sensors or handheld testers to monitor those.Get uv light filters to cover flourescent bulbs, I could see some nice standing display cases against back wall & really like someones idea of giant war map table in center of room w display glass, that would be sweet. Just remember to let room if newly built air out before putting collection in. Would want light motion sensors