Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

WW1 German collection

Article about: Now I am only an amateur collector, any interesting information would be grateful. Hello! I'd like to show off my German WW1 collection! M17 Stahlhelm (Marked Bell L) GM-17 gas mask without

by member aircap1:
    I'm only doing it to preserve it for longer, and I don't plan on selling anything.
    I'm just wondering how high the prices might get
    You won't preserve the leather for longer. I guarantee that you'll only destroy the leather if you use it.

I have a beautiful M17 camo helmet that I bought from an older retiring collector about 7-years ago. He acquired it from someone else many years ago who had treated the pads and chinstrap with some sort of "leather preservative" garbage product, probably neats foot oil, or pecards, or fiebings, or something related. Well, guess what???? The pads are all rotted and fell off from the metal head band long before I bought it from the older collector. And the once nice chinstrap is all crappy and oily and gooey. The person that originally thought they were "preserving" the leather in the helmet destroyed it, and actually de-valued the helmet by at least 30% or more compared to if they had just simply left the leather alone, in the original condition.

Yes, go ahead and be head strong and stubborn, and use the so-called "leather preservative" crap on your leather, and see what happens to it in a few years... You'll find out that what I am saying is true...

If you don't plan on selling anything, why would you wonder how high the prices may get?

Many of our friends who collect 3rd Reich memorabilia have watched their prices tumble lower and lower over the past few years. Who knows where the prices will go on WW1 items in the future. I don't collect it for the investment aspect, I collect it for the enjoyment aspect.