Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Best value detector ?.

Article about: hi there, i would strongly recommend getting a Ace 250 if your new to the hobby. i have used it for 5 years now its a great machine for its price. you don't need an expsensive machine for fi

Default Best value detector ?.

Hi all.I am considering buying a metal detector as i live very close to a beach and was wondering if any members had any advice on what would be a good machine for beach detecting.I was looking to spend around £100-£150.Also where can i look up the laws relating to beach detecting.As im new to it i wont be going further than North Wales just yet but dont want to break any laws either.Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Default Re: Best value detector ?.

Hi Snailster

Well, to be honest, if you just want to give it a try and see what it's like I would suggest buying something quite cheap. Maplin electronics shops normally have metal detectors in. Last time I looked (6 months ago) they had a decent one for £60. My brother bought one and found as much as me with my £300 detector when we went to a gunnery range. This being the case, I know it isn't bad at all !

As for the laws, there is a sticky thread in this forum that goes through them. Basically, you can search any beach in the UK unless it is part of a privately owned estate. There aren't many areas that this covers but there are a few. The upshot of this is, beach searching is basically fine and the only time it isn't there will be signs up asking you not to do it.

So.....get yourself down to Maplins and get searching !

Steve T

PS Beach hunting is fun especially after a really hot and sunny day. Search where the people have been sunbathing, (usually 6-10 foot above the high water mark), and your metal detector will pay for itself within a few weeks (it always surprises me how much money and jewellery people drop on the beach )