MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

1 / FJ R. 1 Erkennungsmarke from Cassino

Article about: Hi all, I don't collect ID discs, I only have the ones that a friend gave me a long time ago,and amongst them (all found in the Anzio/Nettuno/Cassino area) there was this ID which belonged t

Default Re: 1 / FJ R. 1 Erkennungsmarke from Cassino

Strange one this, most but not all of the text looks like it would if an old corroded blank disc has been stamped, the surface oxidation around the text is missing, as it would be because the surface had been distorted by the stamping.
    I can't say for sure because i'm no expert metallurgist.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement 1 / FJ R. 1 Erkennungsmarke from Cassino
    P
    Many

?

Default Re: 1 / FJ R. 1 Erkennungsmarke from Cassino

Ah, okay, well if the shape is identical to others you have, maybe you should post those because as I wrote, it's an exceedingly atypical form and that's a problem- weird fakes appear in clusters, but real ones usually don't. And if there's not a coating, that means the next problem I saw is acutally there- and Paul has it too: the 'halo' around the letters is indicative of a disc with a patina present that was subsequently marked, knocking some of it off. That's a virtulaly fatal sign of a fake I'm afraid. Are there corresponding marks on the back as well?

How old is very old? And are the only reasons you believe it's real because it wasn't sold to you and it was given years ago? Or is there something more? Because I'm afraid neither of those carries much weight in light of the obvious problems with it; I know personally that discs have been faked for at least 30 years- my Dad bought an SS disc in the early 80s that once I became knowledgeable about them I was able to recognize as bad. There's also no reason to believe fakes are only sold.