MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

10./ ss aer

Article about: This one looks good to me but can you explain the AER - Ausbildungs Ersatz Regiment ?? Many thanks Nick

Default 10./ ss aer

This one looks good to me but can you explain the AER - Ausbildungs Ersatz Regiment ??

Many thanks

Nick
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture 10./ ss aer   10./ ss aer  

"In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement 10./ ss aer
    P
    Many

SS-Artillerie-Ersatz-Regiment would be my guess?
    Had good advice? Saved money? Why not become a Gold Club Member, just hit the green "Join WRF Club" tab at the top of the page and help support the forum!

Of course , thanks Ade!

Saves me trawling through the Lexicon !

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?

10./ ss aer10./ ss aer

Nick here is mine forn the same Batterie for comparison , this is the Artillerie Ersatz Regiment , this one was found on the positions of the SS Sturmbrigade Langemarck in Estonia !!
    The gates of hell were opened and we accepted the invitation to enter" 26/880 Lance Sgt, Edward Dyke. 26th Bn Northumberland Fusiliers , ( 3rd Tyneside Irish )

1st July 1916

Thought shall be the harder , heart the keener,
    Courage the greater as our strength faileth.
    Here lies our leader ,in the dust of his greatness.
    Who leaves him now , be damned forever.
    We who are old now shall not leave this Battle,
    But lie at his feet , in the dust with our leader

House Carles at the Battle of Hastings

Nice one Paul ! Thanks for showing!

Any particular reason why one would have runes and another SS ?

Nick

?

Quite a difference in the issue numbers so possibly a new set of stamps were being used i'm sure Matt will have more to add to the question !