Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here

Dog Tag Real?

Article about: Hello, I'm new to this and could not find the font that was used on this disc anywhere on the web. Took a chance and bought it (not for much). Just wanted to see if it is genuine. ID # font

Default Dog Tag Real?

Hello,

I'm new to this and could not find the font that was used on this disc anywhere on the web. Took a chance and bought it (not for much). Just wanted to see if it is genuine.

ID # font is different from other font on tag, this is good, right?

Thanks in advance for members taking a look and giving their thoughts:

Dog Tag Real?Dog Tag Real?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Dog Tag Real?
    P
    Many

?

Hi Endurokarter- welcome to the WRF

That's an interesting disc- the letter stamps are amazingly crude, but the numbers and the blood group letter look quite typical so I don't really see anything that makes me worried. It's not a special unit by any means, there's no sign of it being a newly-stamped old disc or any artificial age. Unfortunately I don't have any images either of other examples from GEB 76, so have nothing to compare this one to. The high roll number would suggest it's a later-war disc, so it might simply be that they needed new stamps and couldn't get anything decent so had to go with what they could- this really crude set.
    Ohhhhh- pillage then burn...

Thanks Matt L

So this tag was issued to soldier # 3248 in the Grenadier Replacement Battalion #76 ?

Link to what I found on this Battalion: Infanterie-Ersatz-Bataillon 76 - Lexikon der Wehrmacht

Did this Battalion feed soldiers into Panzer Division 1? If you look at the very bottom of the following link it lists this Battalion: Panzergruppe 1 - Lexikon der Wehrmacht

Or did I search down the wrong path...

?