Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

SS Lettisch Erkennungsmarke

Article about: What a revealing discussion! Wish I had bought it now Nick

Default SS Lettisch Erkennungsmarke

Does this disc check out ok please?

The runes look weakly stamped

Many thanks in anticipation

Nick
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture SS Lettisch Erkennungsmarke   SS Lettisch Erkennungsmarke  

"In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement SS Lettisch Erkennungsmarke
    P
    Many

?

Default Re: SS Lettisch Erkennungsmarke

Well if this is supposed to the the 19. Lettische SS-Freiwilligen-Division, there's an obvious problem: its 3 Grenadier-Regimenter were numbered 42, 43 and 44- so this disc purporting to be from Infanterie-Regiment 4 doesn't make any sense. There was an SS-Infanterie-Regiment 4 RFSS, but it was very different. Now there also was an SS-Freiwilligen-Regiment 4 in the Lett. SS-Freiwilligen-Legion, but that's not the same thing as what the disc says and that unit became SS-Freiwilligen-Grenadier-Regiment 42 when the Legion became a Division. So none of the text seems to go together properly.

Also the marking itself has a problem- SS units nearly always have 'SS' at the beginning: so it would rightly be 'III./SS-J.R. 4'; it just being 'III./ J.R. 4', which was a Heer unit, is very wrong.
    Ohhhhh- pillage then burn...

Many thanks Matt! I knew you would come up with a definitive answer

You are the man

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Hello everybody,
    This is funny, because some days ago, there was one similar sold on an eastern european auction site.
    It was from different company, but looked very like the one above.