Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

SS-Panzerjäger-Abteilung 18.

Article about: Please can you give me your opinions on this. Thank you Nick

Default SS-Panzerjäger-Abteilung 18.

Please can you give me your opinions on this.

Thank you

Nick
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture SS-Panzerjäger-Abteilung 18.   SS-Panzerjäger-Abteilung 18.  

"In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement SS-Panzerjäger-Abteilung 18.
    P
    Many

?

Default Re: SS-Panzerjäger-Abteilung 18.

That's an interesting one Nick. There are no signs it's an old blank just stamped by someone, and that's good; the font isn't a known bad one that I'm familiar with; the abbreviations all make sense and the unit existed, which are both good too. There's no Kompanie number though and no blood group- but neither is odd because I suspect this couldd be an unissued extremely late-war disc. You see, SS-Panzerjäger-Abteilung 18 was only created in February of 1945, so only existed for about 3 months. That could explain why the marking is so very poor with even one dot out of place on the upper half (should be 'JG.ABT.' not 'JGA.BT.') There were only 4 Kompanien, but I wouldn't think it too unreasonable that such a late-war unit just had one roll and didn't even bother denoting who was in what Kompanie. That or it's a stock disc for issue as a replacement- even at the end of the war, some people may have been doing things by the book. If we could see the Stammrollennummer, that might help- if it's extremely low, it's probably stock. Of course conversely if it's in the 600s or higher, that's a problem...
    Ohhhhh- pillage then burn...

Thank you Matt, I very much appreciated your views . I will see if I can get the Stammrollennummer
    Nick