Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Are these disks real??

Article about: Hi all, Im new to buying these but would like to own a real one for my collection, so im asking before I buy any of these, also any info on what the markings mean, thanks for all the expert

Default Are these disks real??

Hi all, Im new to buying these but would like to own a real one for my collection, so im asking before I buy any of these, also any info on what the markings mean, thanks for all the expert advice and help.
    Are these disks real??Are these disks real??

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Are these disks real??
    P
    Many

?

Default Re: Are these disks real??

Hello,

The first one comes from Reichsarbeitsdienst (State Labor Service).

M 234 = Meldeamt 234 (Hirschberg) - Registration Office 234 in Hirschberg
    RAD 1/104 = RAD 1 (Abteilung)/ 104 (Gruppe) (Görlitz) - 1st company/ 104th RAD battalion Görlitz
    2495 - worker's number

Second one:
    Kf.-A.-Kp. = Kraftfahr-Ausbildungs-Kompanie - motor transport training company
    L.K.S. Bln.-Gatow = Luftkriegsschule Berlin-Gatow - air force school Berlin-Gatow
    15 - soldier's number
    Lexikon der Wehrmacht - Luftkriegsschule
    Luftkriegsschule 2

Both discs are original.

The second disc looks to have alot of 'haloing' around the stampings.

?

Yeah, haloing is usually the sign of a fake, but that's such an obscure and not terribly desirable formation as to make me wonder if anyone woule ever bother making one LOL It also has one feature of a self-made disc- the edge on that bottom hole has the appearance of one that's roughly hand-punched or drilled so there's a lot of material left that has to be bent over...