Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Medal for Combat Service

Article about: Just purchased this nice example ...Type 1 var3, circa 1942 Awarded for combat action resulting in a military success, courageous defence of the state borders or successful military and poli

Default Medal for Combat Service

Just purchased this nice example ...Type 1 var3, circa 1942

Awarded for combat action resulting in a military success, courageous defence of the state borders or successful military and political training and planning

Nick
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Medal for Combat Service   Medal for Combat Service  

Medal for Combat Service   Medal for Combat Service  

"In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Medal for Combat Service
    P
    Many

Dom
    ?

Nice medal, congrats

This early issue (pre 1942) has to be on a square holderMedal for Combat ServiceMedal for Combat Service
    See the example attached

Originally, yes they were, and many were "upgraded" to five sided suspensions as shown here.

Quote by Bill Garvy View Post
    Originally, yes they were, and many were "upgraded" to five sided suspensions as shown here.
    Quite so and I think that "many" is actually "most" because the majority of recipients of the first type are likely to have been still serving in uniform when the change was made

You have a nice example there Nick.

Here are two others for comparison;

1. A 1st type 3rd variant on the original rectangular suspension.
    2. A 2nd type 3rd variant on the later 5 sided suspension of white metal rather than aluminium, note the integral 'U' shaped ring on the medal.