Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Finds from a Norfolk beach

Article about: Went for a walk along the dunes at Winterton on Sea with my oldest boy this morning. The dunes were used as a range during the war. If you know where to look its still easy to find a few thi

Default re: Finds from a Norfolk beach

O.K Spotter I'll take some pictures when I'm next down there.I'm sure they are ordnance, and I believe they are 2" mortar rounds, like in your third pic, but I'm no expert on identification. They were very corroded and appear hollow. You can still see the remains of threads at one end on them, but like I said there is no end cap. It could be that the end fittings have simply corroded to dust, ( the tails and fragments I found are very corroded), the sand is acidic. Like I said I'll get some pics. Thanks

Calling Spotter, been back on the dunes and took some more pics, sorry they are not the best. You can see what I was trying to describe in a previous post.The shiny out of focus coin is a 20 pence piece!Also found the tail from what believe is a 4.2" mortar round (using your pic for identification). Also found a nice .303 casing dated 1943.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Finds from a Norfolk beach   Finds from a Norfolk beach  

Finds from a Norfolk beach   Finds from a Norfolk beach  

Hello Fakes,,im not going to commit to a 100% positive id on these,but i will say they LOOK very similar to heavily corroded 2inch smoke rounds,we find them with most of the thin body rotted away depending what the soil is like,These generally have the remains of the burnt smoke composition remaining inside .have a look at my attatched pictures,ignore the tail unit on my unfinished cutaway smoke round this is a later model tail .
    another possibility is 2inch illumination rounds again thin bodies and these have an alloy base where the tail fits on which often rots away,these should be an empty tube