Ratisbon's - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

QF 6-Pdr Gunsight

Article about: Hello folks. Nothing rare or special here, but an interesting object that isn't seen too often. This telescopic sight was fitted to the QF 6-Pounder 7 cwt anti-tank gun, pictured below. Mark

Default QF 6-Pdr Gunsight

Hello folks.

Nothing rare or special here, but an interesting object that isn't seen too often.

This telescopic sight was fitted to the QF 6-Pounder 7 cwt anti-tank gun, pictured below.

QF 6-Pdr Gunsight

Marked 'Tel Sightg No22D Mk1' and with a war department arrow. There is no date, with 'H.B.M.Co' in place of where it would usually be. I'm new to these sights, so any additional information on the markings would be greatly appreciated.

QF 6-Pdr GunsightQF 6-Pdr GunsightQF 6-Pdr Gunsight

I did my best to take a picture of the crosshair. This wasn't easy. Windage markings are visible, along with 'R' and 'L' markings. I'm unsure of the purpose of the latter.

A bit of an oddball in any collection, but interesting enough. As I'm not ever likely to be able to afford the gun to go with it, this will have to do!

?

Pretty cool brodie.

As to what R and L mean. The only thing i can think of is. Left and right of the target? Like the not the gunners left and right , but the opposite for the target? Maybe that helped the sight to be installed correctly.

Heres the sight down my 2 pounder, i love messsing around with scopes!
    QF 6-Pdr Gunsight

the R and L indicate the direction the gun crew need to move the gun when the target is moving across from one side to the other. it doesn't have a range marked on it because the gun has a range drum built into it.