Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here

researching 45mm shell casing

Article about: I have this shell casing that I can't identify. It's a 45mm x 130mm long. I didn't have any lucking searching the headstamp but I assuming the 4/16 means April 1916? Any info or pointing me

?

Default researching 45mm shell casing

I have this shell casing that I can't identify. It's a 45mm x 130mm long. I didn't have any lucking searching the headstamp but I assuming the 4/16 means April 1916? Any info or pointing me in the right direction would be appreciated. Thanks!
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture researching 45mm shell casing   researching 45mm shell casing  

Looks like a shell casing from a 37mm 'Pom-Pom' gun. I'm no expert on headstamps, but I think you're right on the money in regards to the date. The 'K' might indicate 'Karlsruhe', a popular German manufacturer of these shells. The British, French, Belgians and the United States also used these shells, so it could potentially be from any of those countries.

Ready and willing to be corrected by others, as this is not one of my chosen fields!

B.B.

?

Definitely not german. Not the correct marking scheme

?

In fact the S on the shell means Showa for the Japanese showa dynasty
    4- April
    16- 1941
    Its a Japanese shell

Edit
    It makes sense, the Japanese captured british pom pom guns and made there own ammo

?

Brodie inspired me to look harder at the "K" and it looks like a Kynoch "K". Could/would the Japanese reload and remark captured British casings? Still struggling with gun that fired this round. ID is 45mm not 37mm

?

Im sorry if this sounds rude, but the shell must be 47mm , you might of measured wrong.

This cannon here fired an almost identical round
    QF 3-pounder Hotchkiss - Wikipedia

Fired a 47x131mmR shell, which is basically the same size as yours that and i can not find any other related cannons that ever fired “45mm”