Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

British Enfield P-1907 Hook Quillon Bayonet

Article about: Hi guys, im not an expert but have a working knowledge of these..this is i believe a British made 1907, 2/1912 Enfield Bayonet,sent to Australia..My understanding this is a N.S.W 2nd distric

You have your self a very nice genuine P07 Hooked Quillon Bayonet, the hooked quillon examples sell for silly money in the UK as they are quite scarce, nice score.

Harry an X marked not on the blade but on the metal on the handle means SOS..this doesnt have one,but every other year before does..m3bobby is right the X marked on the blade signifies the side of the bend test
    Lugerlout, i paid a fortune for this one lol ...being the 1912 with no serial numbers was the clincher..There is an Australian expert im trying to get hold of atm to fill in some gaps..Thank you all for your interest and comments

That's correct about the X mark. And as far as I am aware the bend test is the final test on the blade - hence the final inspection mark. As well as the sold out of service mark - the crows feet set point to point, there is also a condemned mark which was used. a double capital R - the left R being a mirror image.

Here are a few pictures of the markings on my 1914 dated example. Not as rare as the hooked quillion, but the omission of the oiler hole still makes it a rare early model. The condition of bayonet and scabbard are superb. It is marked to 3rd Battalion Welsh Fusiliers.

British Enfield P-1907 Hook Quillon BayonetBritish Enfield P-1907 Hook Quillon BayonetBritish Enfield P-1907 Hook Quillon Bayonet

It looks a nice one Harry and your right about that nice interim period P1907.. the 1916 War Dept modification of a "Clearance Hole" is a good way to check fakes of Quillons

Heres a good guide for P1907 bayonets Identification