Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

WW1 kS98 with Feld-Flieger Abteilung 1 markings

Article about: Greetings all, purchased a WW1 German kS98 produced by Erfurt in 1909. Beyond the usual acceptance and manufacturer stamps, if carries an F.A.1.157 marking, which seems to indicate that it h

?

Default WW1 kS98 with Feld-Flieger Abteilung 1 markings

Greetings all, purchased a WW1 German kS98 produced by Erfurt in 1909.
    Beyond the usual acceptance and manufacturer stamps, if carries an F.A.1.157 marking, which seems to indicate that it has been issued to a Feld-Flieger Abteilung 1 from Doberitz.
    Scabbard is sadly not original - FA markings missing. However, seems to be of correct type.
    Since I am new to collecting WW1 militaria, keen to hear the opinions on this piece - seems legit to me, but I might be wrong.
    Thank you!
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture WW1 kS98 with Feld-Flieger Abteilung 1 markings   WW1 kS98 with Feld-Flieger Abteilung 1 markings  

WW1 kS98 with Feld-Flieger Abteilung 1 markings   WW1 kS98 with Feld-Flieger Abteilung 1 markings  

Last edited by SergeP; 01-21-2019 at 08:03 PM.

MAP
    ?

Welcome again Serge,

Not my area so I can't provide any feedback, but I'm sure one of bayo guru's will be around and provide some opinions.

It looks nice though!
    "Please", Thank You" and proper manners appreciated

My greatest fear is that one day I will die and my wife will sell my guns for what I told her I paid for them

"Don't tell me these are investments if you never intend to sell anything" (Quote: Wife)

A very nice Imperial era KS98. It's fairly rare to find military acceptance marks on these as most purchased were privately purchased for wear with dress or "walking out" uniform. However some were issued, as were some swords for NCO's and officers, as this one has been. Very collectable from that point of view alone.