Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Crash Helmet RAC

Article about: Thanks Aaron.

Default Re: Crash Helmet RAC

Thanks Aaron.

Quote by tinlid View Post
    Although I'm no radio expert it looks like they are only using the earphones tied into the scrum & not the whole headset. Which I guess is an 19 set for AFV, I will look out for a scrum for you as now & again they do turn up.
    It would depend on which period of the war. The Wireless Set 19 Mk I was introduced in 1941, and would have presumably taken some time to replace existing sets. Prior to this the Wireless Set No 11 would have been the most likely set in AFVs.

I was trying to see if I could identify what they are wearing in the photo. The headphones for the WS19 have a microphone permanently attached, which would hang at roughly stomach level. I don't see it on either of the men wearing the scrum, unless they have tucked it into their respirator haversacks. Judging by the LMS railway logo on the train, they must be in the UK, so the pic would predate 1942 anyway, as 6th Armoured Div were in North Africa by '42.

Rob

?

I expect most of the pictures taken of soldiers using the HCRAC would have been from 39-41/42. So maybe they were'nt using the 19 set earphones so they are probably the No 11 set. Were the 11 set earphones different from the No19 set earphones? I've been looking out for a set of earphones to go in my scrum & thouhgt I'd have to dismantle a set, because as from the pictures it looks like the earphones are just 2 earphones with cables linking them & no head harness.
    Here's some other pics.
    Aaron
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Crash Helmet RAC   Crash Helmet RAC