MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Help with ID of British helmet.

Article about: Nice, thanks for sharing! If only these things could talk...

Default Help with ID of British helmet.

Hello all!

I bought this helmet more than 10 years ago at a local gun show. From what I remember, it was incredibly cheap.

Can anyone provide me with any additional information on it? Is it authentic? Is the camo paint authentic or is it something the vendor did to raise the price on it?

Sorry for the poor quality pictures. I'll take better pictures if necessary...

I am a high school history teacher and have brought it in along with a few other helmets in my modest collection for my students... It was a tense situation as a handful of my students aren't always exactly the best behaved. With that being said, sharing the helmets with them was a hit and I'll continue to do so for years to come.

What do you guys think?!

?

Default Re: Help with ID of British helmet.

Looks to be a standard early WW2 British issue helmet.

The helmet looks to have been repainted from it's original colour, ... possible a lighter shade for Desert use ?
    .. By the lining type and screw fixing for the liner, it should date between late 1939, and approx middle of 1942 ..
    (There might be a date stamped into one of the cross over pieces of the liner inside.)

Also, there seems to be a hole punched in the rim, .. is there another hidden by the strap in the picture ?? .... as this might point to South African production).

Cheers

Gary J.

Hi Gary! Thanks for the prompt reply!

Do you think the paint job is period to help camouflage a soldier in a desert/ Mediterranean area? Or did the man at the gun show try to repaint it to squeeze more money out of gullible chumps like me?

Yes, there is another hole punched into the rim. Were the holes punched into this helmet to attach some sort of sun shade for a soldier's neck... or maybe some sort of mosquito net or camo?