Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here

Help Identifying Brodie Helmet

Article about: Hi everyone, I picked up a Brodie helmet in an antique shop in the UK. It is in poor condition but I am a teacher and wanted to give my students something hands on to experience during our u

Taylor Bailey
    ?

Question Help Identifying Brodie Helmet

Hi everyone,

I picked up a Brodie helmet in an antique shop in the UK. It is in poor condition but I am a teacher and wanted to give my students something hands on to experience during our unit of study. I am trying to look further into this helmet and identify what country it is from and perhaps the manufacturer. The chin strap attachment points make me think it is American, based on what I have come across online, though I cannot seem to identify what is stamped beside the year. I have attached photos below but this is the stamping that I can make out:

"1938"

"970"

There is also a sicker of some sort that is wearing off that says a few words I cannot make out and then "London."

Painted on the front are the initials BGC.

Any information is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Taylor

Flickr: TMacSween08's Photostream

NCA
    ?

Default Re: Help Identifying Brodie Helmet

Your link doesnt open for me?Its always better to upload photos directly to this site rather than links.

From your description the helmet sounds like a Home front/Civil Defense type.The initials are probably for a factory.What colour is the helmet?

1938 is the date stamp and 970 is the steel batch number.There are most likely Makers initials near these numbers also.