Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

M2 Paratrooper Helmet

Article about: Hi I have this helmet, i want to authentify this because it exist many copies What do you think about this helmet ? For me all seem to be good but i'm not an expert.. The serial number is 28

Default M2 Paratrooper Helmet

Hi

I have this helmet, i want to authentify this because it exist many copies
    What do you think about this helmet ?
    For me all seem to be good but i'm not an expert..
    The serial number is 286B or 236B so it means a july or september 1942 production

Thank you !
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture M2 Paratrooper Helmet   M2 Paratrooper Helmet  

M2 Paratrooper Helmet   M2 Paratrooper Helmet  

I think you have a good one there, because from those pictures it looks good to me. The lot number could be 236B because the known data on m2’s puts them in the range of lots100 to235 but who’s to say that data is exactly correct.
    What makes it rarer is the fact that both the C loops are intact which is something I have only seen on a hand full on the web. Great that it has the straps as well.
    Would be good to see a picture of the lot number and the bar tacking of the straps to the bales. And see if you can see what’s written on the backs of the male snaps.
    I stand to be corrected but it looks good to me.
    Rod

Here is a picture of the number
    Sorry i didn't understand what is bar tacking ?
    On the back of the snaps it's written united carr

M2 Paratrooper Helmet

looks like 226B. I think that is the straight bottom line of a number 2 on that second digit. which would put it in the range of known lot numbers.
    To me you have got yourself a nice very rare complete M2 helmet there. Normally the C loops broke and have been repaired. this is why I have only seen about four un messed with examples over the last eight years,