Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Observer Corps "Tommy Helmet"

Article about: Hello chaps, what do you make of this one? It is being sold as a unit marked Royal Observer Corps helmet. Now I will firstly admit that I am no expert on unit markings but I was in the ROC!

Default Observer Corps "Tommy Helmet"

Hello chaps, what do you make of this one? It is being sold as a unit marked Royal Observer Corps helmet. Now I will firstly admit that I am no expert on unit markings but I was in the ROC! My concern is not that this is an original unit marking as it appears to be contemporary to the general wear on the helmet. My concern is that even though the "colours" match those on my Corps tie, I would not have thought that the ROC at that time would have had a unit marking like this on their helmets. The only "tommies" that I ever saw in our HQ museum were black painted(not khaki) and had either OC or OBSERVER painted to the front! Oh and this one is £195!! What are your thoughts experts!! Leon.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Observer Corps "Tommy Helmet"   Observer Corps "Tommy Helmet"  

Observer Corps "Tommy Helmet"   Observer Corps "Tommy Helmet"  

Observer Corps "Tommy Helmet"  

I agree that the unit markings appear to be original to the helmet. As for whether the ROC actually bothered with a unit badge in WW2 isn't that important. I reckon someone who served with them was proud enough of what he was doing to let everyone else know who he was serving with. It wouldn't be the first or the last time that someone added their corps insignia to their own helmet.

Morning Leon,

It appears to be legit:

Royal Observer Corps

Regards, Ned.
    'I do not think we can hope for any better thing now.
    We shall stick it out to the end, but we are getting weaker of course, and the end cannot be far.
    It seems a pity, but I do not think I can write more. R. SCOTT.