Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Observer Corps "Tommy Helmet"

Article about: Hello chaps, what do you make of this one? It is being sold as a unit marked Royal Observer Corps helmet. Now I will firstly admit that I am no expert on unit markings but I was in the ROC!

?

I wonder if it is an Mk2 No2A, 1 hole in the brim, which looks to have been filled. Or they put the chin strap lug in the wrong place & moved it?

Hello, it is the same on both sides, there is an "extra" rivet plugging the holes. I assumed it was just drilled incorrectly and that's why it ended up as Home Front use, but I would love to know what the issue really is with these "extra" rivets! Leon.

Any update on the rivet issue chaps? Leon.

?

Nice Mk II Leon I would gladly display it in my collection as previously mentioned by Jerry flashed helmets are getting hard to find and the price in the market place reflects that IMO.

Regards Mark

Quote by FALLSCHIRMJAGER View Post
    Hello, it is the same on both sides, there is an "extra" rivet plugging the holes. I assumed it was just drilled incorrectly and that's why it ended up as Home Front use, but I would love to know what the issue really is with these "extra" rivets! Leon.
    I think there would have been 1 hole on either side marking is as a MKII No2a but someone must have filled it in like on my MKII No2c with 3 holes on either side and as you guessed MKII No2b has 2 holes on either side all of these are intended for home front usage.
    Best Regards Matt

On the look out for original ww2 M26 Adrian helmet liner.

Quote by Steelhead10 View Post
    I think there would have been 1 hole on either side marking is as a MKII No2a but someone must have filled it in like on my MKII No2c with 3 holes on either side and as you guessed MKII No2b has 2 holes on either side all of these are intended for home front usage.