Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Original British Airborne helmet?

Article about: Hello This helmet is for sale, and the seller claims that it's a WW2 orginal British airborne helmet dated 1943 and manufactured by BMB. But I can't see that date on the pictures so I was do

Default Original British Airborne helmet?

Hello

This helmet is for sale, and the seller claims that it's a WW2 orginal British airborne helmet dated 1943 and manufactured by BMB. But I can't see that date on the pictures so I was doubting if he's really WW2. I hope you guys can help me out.

Original British  Airborne helmet?Original British  Airborne helmet?Original British  Airborne helmet?Original British  Airborne helmet?Original British  Airborne helmet?Original British  Airborne helmet?Original British  Airborne helmet?Original British  Airborne helmet?

?

Hi Jellebb I am not an expert on these by any means but I will give you my opinion the BMB shield looks correct for a war time produced HSAT and there is a date visible on the right hand side of the shield it does appear to be a 43 but is quite hard to make out .
    The sorbo rubber and dome pad look correct and the netting looks to be mid to late war knotted it is near impossible to tell when the scrim would have been applied as it was used late war and post war alike but IMO it does stand a chance of being late war applied.
    Please wait for other opinions as there are other members here that are much more knowledgeable than I when it comes to HSATS.
    Here are a couple of images of my 1944 dated BMB for comparison

Regards Mark
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Original British  Airborne helmet?   Original British  Airborne helmet?  

Original British  Airborne helmet?  

?

They only made these Mk2 HSAT in 43 & 44 during the war, & as the stamp looks original then there is no problems as to it being WW2.