Marna Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Signs of a fake Brodie?

Article about: Hi all, I am relatively new to helmet collecting and I have gone with Civil Defence helmets and I am wondering is there really fake Brodies about?? I know there are lots fake German helmets

The slapdash nature of these helmets will always be both a blessing and a curse. A blessing, in that there is endless variety and no two helmets are the same. A curse, in that there are some helmets that will always look clumsily done. Personally, I'm happy with the example I posted in this thread. I suppose a scientist in a lab somewhere could probably tell me for sure how old the paint was, but I see no need. In-hand, it feels 'right' to me.

Very excited to get my hands on a copy of that book! As I'm sure are many other collectors here. Hopefully it's not too far away now...

Regards, B.B.

Well, I’m advised that carbon dating wouldn’t help...and the story about lead paint being age-specific isn’t really that helpful as lead paint could till have been used for painting restoration work....and of course it would NEVER been used on a Helmet could it???? ;-)

I’m sincerely hoping we don’t fall into the same space as a lot of TR Helmet posts...where some ol’ boy is positioned as THE source of all knowledge and he then posts “FAKE”...and everyone believes it......it comes down to personal view......and common sense.....and you’ll never get 100% of reviewers to agree...indeed you often won’t get two people to agree!!!

If you’re happy....that’s all that matters.

Sadly, if a book does come out with photos of over a thousand different Home Front Helmets you can bet your backside that there’ll be more fakes/upgrades.......sorry about that.....