Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Salty B6 flight helmet

Article about: Hello all, recently I've shifted my focus to USAAF B-17 crew equipment in order to make a display for my great uncle who was the radio operator of a B-17g in January of 1944. Before I go any

?

Thanks Rick for the reply, The AAF stamp looks ok to me, I'm not an expert ,but it seems to fit the finish of the exterior in that area.

I have never thought about somebody making repro tags for these, But maybe that's my limited knowledge of these. The weave of the tag stitch looks correct, But once again , Not a pro at these.
    As far as extra large , They are around, But most will be asking a premium.
    But there are day's you get one at a great price.
    Salty B6 flight helmet

And I'll also add. That's is a very nice B-3.

Semper Fi
    Phil

?

Quote by AZPhil View Post
    Thanks Rick for the reply, The AAF stamp looks ok to me, I'm not an expert ,but it seems to fit the finish of the exterior in that area.

I have never thought about somebody making repro tags for these, But maybe that's my limited knowledge of these. The weave of the tag stitch looks correct, But once again , Not a pro at these.
    As far as extra large , They are around, But most will be asking a premium.
    But there are day's you get one at a great price.
    Salty B6 flight helmet

And I'll also add. That's is a very nice B-3.

Semper Fi
    Phil
    I don't think the tag is a fake at all , never did , I don't like the decal as it has the sheen from a Repo , but it's poor photos so hard to judge ,just my opinion.
    Maybe the OP has a watermelon sized head to start with
    Sure they can shrink a bit after being wet and dried out over time for sure. That's the only reason I mentioned a Pecard's treatment .
    Its a nice cap !
    Cheers Rick

?

Quote by reneblacky View Post
    Well I wouldn't treat mine due to the lacquer! and here's my other that has shrunk.