Wardmilitaria - Top
Display your banner here

Canadian Battledress with Belgian insignia?

Article about: Hi, I am a newbie to this forum. A friend has asked me to ID his battledress and I need some help! My expertise points more towards British WW1/WW2 items and RAF. The BD looks Canadian, i.e.

?

Default Canadian Battledress with Belgian insignia?

Hi, I am a newbie to this forum.
    A friend has asked me to ID his battledress and I need some help! My expertise points more towards British WW1/WW2 items and RAF.
    The BD looks Canadian, i.e., different colour, cut and style to standard Brit BD, there are no identifiable manufacturer's stamps or date as these are washed out, just feint traces. The insignia I believe is Belgian, can anyone confirm this and tell me what branch of service it is and anything else of interest. The brass buttons on the epaulettes have a rampant lion and are marked EMTE GENT on the back, the BD buttons are brown/green plastic or bakelite.
    Thanks for any help...............

Derek

Default Re: Canadian Battledress with Belgian insignia?

Quote by Derek View Post
    Hi, I am a newbie to this forum.
    A friend has asked me to ID his battledress and I need some help! My expertise points more towards British WW1/WW2 items and RAF.
    The BD looks Canadian, i.e., different colour, cut and style to standard Brit BD, there are no identifiable manufacturer's stamps or date as these are washed out, just feint traces. The insignia I believe is Belgian, can anyone confirm this and tell me what branch of service it is and anything else of interest. The brass buttons on the epaulettes have a rampant lion and are marked EMTE GENT on the back, the BD buttons are brown/green plastic or bakelite.
    Thanks for any help...............

Derek