Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Officer Uniforms" Cape Breton Highlander "

Article about: Thanks Lowboy , I'm back living on Cape Breton , North Sydney to be exact . I've been collecting for many years now , just wish I had collected more Allied stuff earlier when it was cheap an

CBH
    ?

Default Officer Uniforms" Cape Breton Highlander "

Here are a set of named uniforms ,belonging to a Lt.Col Angus Norman MacDonald ED , the only Officer who served continuously with the Cape Breton Highlanders during WW2 .He was a Lieutenant in 1939 and became a Major by 1945 . He went on to command the unit as Lt-Col in 1949 , the unit was disbanded and became the 2nd Battalion of the Nova Scotia Highlanders , and the buttons were changed . I'd like to know what you all think , what would these tunics be called ? I'm putting together the insignia ,but buttons are hard to find . Also looking for shoulder flashes . Hope you like them . 100's post !
    Cheers Chris
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Officer Uniforms" Cape Breton Highlander "   Officer Uniforms" Cape Breton Highlander "  

Officer Uniforms" Cape Breton Highlander "   Officer Uniforms" Cape Breton Highlander "  

Officer Uniforms" Cape Breton Highlander "   Officer Uniforms" Cape Breton Highlander "  

Default Re: Officer Uniforms" Cape Breton Highlander "

Congrats on your 100 posts!
    Nice uniforms but can't help youu any further!
    cheers
    |<
    Always looking for Belgian Congo stuff!
    http://out-of-congo.eklablog.com/

cheers
    |<ris

A nice group :

Neither are actually 'tunics' per se. To be technically accurate, the proper name for the khaki one would be a "Service Dress Jacket" and the blue one is a "Serge Frock".

What shoulder flashes do you mean? The service dress may have had a Canadian divisional patch on it perhaps, otherwise none would have been worn.

Rob

CBH
    ?