Damn Yankee - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tanker Jacket.

Article about: I’ve been looking at a few for a display. I’ve been researching but it’s almost impossible for me to tell if it’s a repro or not. How can one determine if a jacket is real or not? I see a co

Thanks for your assistance. It doesn’t look like the seller will budge from his $560 price as I came back with $540. I’ll have to pass on it until another comes along.

I’m hopeful I’ll find one as it’s the last piece for my mannequin display.

I'm from Argentina, and I'm about to visit the US for vacation next month. I always wanted to have a piece of history, in particular WWII. I would love to buy on eBay or any other legit place, that I can relate to a person. I think this is called "identified", but also would like a "grouping", like a photo or letter, plus a piece of uniform.
    I found one Tanker Jacket, (only the jacket) but even with all the correct patches (I'm not an expert though) I don't think it's legit. It has some rips and tears that can be seen in the back, but it lacks stains and dirt. The patches look old though. The label doesn't look legit or has a manufacturer I can rely on which makes me doubt too. The price is $450 or something like that, and considering it's a 2nd Armored "Hell on Wheels" looks too good to be true.

https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/5J0AA...Vl/s-l1600.jpg

Appreciate help here.
    Thanks!

Mariagorn,

You are to be commended for asking here some questions before making a costly error..

The Army Air Forces Tanker Jacket label is pure fantasy. The Army Air Forces had their own Jackets B-2, B-3 etc. The AAF would have no reason to have a TANKER JACKET label in one of their jackets.

There is so much misinformation going around that there were "TANKER JACKETS" this is not true. There were Field Jackets such as the Parsons M1941 field jacket that Tankers wore, that's it. No authentic labels from WW2 would have the designation TANKER JACKET.