MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Greek 3rd Mountain Brigade Award

Article about: Hello All, not really being a collector of Allied memorabilia this badge came with a bundle of German items from an old veterans family. It is the award that was given to all ranks of the 3r

Hello Aghs,
    thank you for showing the citation and your badge.
    The badge you have does look very similar but I do note a weakness in some of the detail but this could be due to some polishing.
    I am not an expert on Greek badges by any means but my belief (and it is only my opinion) is there would only be one original style of badge.

I have seen some very reasonable copies of this badge.
    One of the reproductions I have seen is being sold out of Greece and appears to be a near perfect example of both yours and mine.
    I have asked the store owner if he could send a picture of the back of the badge so we can have a look at the pin detail.

I will try to post some pictures of badges that in my opinion are later copies of the badge due to the fact they seem to lack a considerable amount of detail.

Is that you (dimbot) over on the British badge Forum that posted a part picture of the citation you have above?

Anyway posted by the same member two pictures of the badge both are two different variants to the one I show and your example.
    I really think that of these two badges the lack of detail shows that they may be later variations?

Greek 3rd Mountain Brigade AwardGreek 3rd Mountain Brigade Award

Below is an example that was sold in 2015 at Sotheby's auction.

Again this looks like a different variation making 4 now!

All the best
    Doug

Hello Doug, i have seen some copies but i think that you can easy spot them comparing the weight, the front details and mostly the back side.