Virtual Grenadier - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

A Collection of Insignia

Article about: Hello folks. Won this small grouping of insignia in an auction a few days ago. It arrived this morning. My understanding is that this is a grouping of pre-war British, Canadian and South Afr

The same badge worn over the rank chevrons on the right arm indicates a Regimental Signals Instructor or RSI (not repetitive strain injury!!).[/QUOTE]

Cheers Mark for what you've written
    Here's one set I found today on a "Jersey Mans Heavy Olive Drab Round Neck" - this looks to have had Para wings on top? I am also a novice on theses!

Quote by reneblacky View Post
    The same badge worn over the rank chevrons on the right arm indicates a Regimental Signals Instructor or RSI (not repetitive strain injury!!).
    Here's one set I found today on a "Jersey Mans Heavy Olive Drab Round Neck" - this looks to have had Para wings on top? I am also a novice on theses![/QUOTE]

Hi Rene,

Sometimes a good piece of kit just refuses to go away no matter how hard the MoD try to delete it from the inventory.
    The Jersey Heavy Wool (JHW) aka "Wooly pully" first came to be shortly after WWII (there was already of course the Jersey Mans Lightweight) and has morphed many times into slightly different patterns (the change of nomenclature to; Jersey Mans Heavy Olive Drab Round Neck is a reflection of this) and has been directly copied by other nations (the first I recall seeing was USMC in the late '70s which I believe were private purchase but sanctioned for wear). When the contemporary multi layer clothing systems began to appear in the early '90s the JHW was deleted from general issue then completly a year or so later. But, guess what? I live close to 3 large garrison areas and every seccond soldier I see at this time of year is wearing a JHW! Not, sure if they are back on issue but they are certainly prevalent.