Lakesidetrader - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Confusing Dig Find

Article about: Hi everybody, this is my first time on your site so if my etiquette is wrong or I make mistakes please feel free to correct me. Thanks. I have dug these up in a field (S.France) They are spr

Default Confusing Dig Find

Hi everybody, this is my first time on your site so if my etiquette is wrong or I make mistakes please feel free to correct me. Thanks. I have dug these up in a field (S.France) They are spread around a large area 10-20cms deep. I think I have identified them as part of french shell casing. The strange thing is that they appear to have all been blown apart as all I am finding is the heavy disc like end, and they have all been fired, or at least their firing cap has been struck. In these fields are also many small pieces of the 'casing tube'. As this field is located behind heavy coastal gun battery, is there a chance that these shells have been modified/ used as for example improvised anti personnel mines? I would appreciate any comments as I have asked around generally and I can't get an answer. So far I have found approx 40 of these. Thank you for your time. Regards, Francis.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Confusing Dig Find   Confusing Dig Find  

Confusing Dig Find  

Bonjour Francis, and welcome to the WRF ;-)

The cleaned up one is a WWI French 75mm shell (looks like they maybe all are), there is a quite a bit of info out there on deciphering the factory codes, I researched an ashtray made from one of these not all that long ago, here's a link to some info.

Large calibre markings (The Western Front Museum)

It looks to me, a guess, that these were blown up, either accidentally or on purpose?

ILH
    ?

It looks, to my archaeological eye, to be impact damage rather than explosive damage so I'd suggest it is plough damage. This would also explain the depths you are finding them at.