Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Confusing Dig Find

Article about: Hi everybody, this is my first time on your site so if my etiquette is wrong or I make mistakes please feel free to correct me. Thanks. I have dug these up in a field (S.France) They are spr

That last photo appears to be a dug-in static flamethrower...
    cheers, Glenn

Hi Glenn. Thanks for that. I originally found this a year ago but only excavated it a little as it was hard going (and to be honest it obviously was not something I was about to add to my collection) and I was often thinking ever since 'I wonder if its a kind of flamethrower'. My curiosity got the better of me and I dug a little deeper to expose a curved steel surface leading me to guess it is a huge storage tank underneath. With no other bits/mechanisms on or around it I was wondering if it was just water or fuel storage. Really excited by your suggestion/confirmation along the same (flamethrower) lines. There was a lot of electrical wire loosely wrapped around the screw cap with the handles welded on, although all the insulation had long disappeared. Maybe I will investigate more next time I am in the area. Will keep you posted if anything interesting comes up from this. Thanks again. Kind regards, Francis.

Look here, Francis...Abwehrflammenwerfer 42...or a version thereof...that's what you've got there, lol...
    cheers, Glenn
    Attached Images Attached Images Confusing Dig Find 

HOLLY SHIT! (am I allowed to swear?) I Cant believe it. Must head back and excavate. Thank you so much for that picture. :-) you're a star!!!