Steyer Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

British Bayonets

Article about: I've just about got the Lee-Enfield covered, 2 more and I think it'll be done. From the top, Pattern 1888 MkI Enfield, ditto Wilkinson, Pattern 1903 Enfield Unit markings from the first 1888

Default Re: British Bayonets

THank you everyone, I really do like these, there's so much I'm still learning about them, and so many variants. Going to military and gun shows is like a treasure hunt, because there are always a few of the 1907s or No4s at every show, you never know what you'll find. I like the sword bayonets alot, they are so substantial, and look like a bayonet should. I wish there were more of the No5 and No7 types made, I like the knife part too, doing double duty as it were.

I want to display them on a wall, but so far haven't come up with anything better than pegboard. There's a few too many for shelves and display stands I think. I have to clean more out of that room, anyone need another old tv? lol

Rob, I looked with a magnifying glass, and it's definately a D. It looks like something is in the middle of the D, it could be a 5, but so scrubbed out I need a stronger lense to really be sure. But that's part of the fun of collecting, the mystery of pieces like this, so close, but still not sure.

NCA
    ?

An excellent, focused collection.Thanks for showing!

Hi
    Great collection of bayonets for the enfield, one of the best iv seen for a long time, good luck finding older models.
    William and Rob, you are right with the stabbing of the bayonet, the muscles contract around the blade this is where
    the twist of the blade comes in. IE stab and twist ect, sounds gruesome but it is the only way it works, thats if you dont want to lose your bayonet.
    Dave.