Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

US M1 bayonet

Article about: Glad you found it helpful Alex. It is part of Gary Cunningham's very informative Bayonet Points site at: Bayonet Points A lot of excellent info there.

?

Default US M1 bayonet

Hello everyone

I'm a bit new with American bayonets. I've found this M1 bayonet for sale and would like some opinions. Sorry about the poor quality photos they are from the seller.

I've done some research and I think its a US WW2 original (not cut down) M1 bayonet with US Korean War era M7 scabbard. Bayonet is marked PAL who I think only made M1s during WW2. Scabbard is marked on throat under lip B-N with scabbard body marked VP over 7 which is making me think Korean war era.

To me the bayonet looks in pretty good condition and is reasonably priced. My concern is that it has been for sale for a while and had no other interest. I'm wondering if I'm missing something in my judgment.

Thanks
    Alex

US M1 bayonetUS M1 bayonetUS M1 bayonetUS M1 bayonetUS M1 bayonetUS M1 bayonetUS M1 bayonetUS M1 bayonet

?

Doesnt look cut down to me either, but if you post the blade length, the experts will know for sure.

This bayonet type is close to my heart, as I when a kid was presented with a pristine M1 bayonet and scabbard still in factory or arsenal grease.

It was my first bayonet and helped spark my interest in cold steel.

A well made bayonet which to me at least reeks of quality.

Greetings Alex,

The 10” PAL variant is not all that hard to come by in decent condition (at least here in the States). If it was the same 10” Variant, but had the “1943” date stamped (not an original 16” cut down to 10”) on the ricasso, then it’s a rarer and more desirable variant. Here’s a (beat up) version of the rarer 10” made variant I’m referring too (eBay completed item # 400615253415).

Hope this has been of some help.

Merry Christmas!

Lance

?