MilitaryHarbor - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Operation Market-Garden

Article about: The fun is gone, now most of the veterans are paaed away or not able to make it anymore, remember some 20 years or so ago, we stay in the bar until late after mignight listening to there sto

Default Re: Operation Market-Garden

Ade is an authority on Market Garden. He has been to Arnhem a few times and knows some of the veterans

Nick
    Last edited by Woolgar; 08-30-2012 at 10:31 AM.
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

You must watch this 1946 British film Mo

Operation Market-Garden

All the actors were Market Garden vet's
    A viewing must
    Cheers
    Dave

Volksjager from the forum here has a large section of parachute from market garden which he picked up a few months back, if he reads this he might post some pics of it. It is really good, he even got pics of the bloke digging up the parachute from his paddock.

You should read: It never snows in September. Taken from the point of the Germans. Describes how hard the fighting was.Some of the Germans had fought on the Eastern front and said they had never known fighting like at Arnhem.

You are right it is a bit like the Alamo on Rourkes drift. It is very much clebebrated amongst the Parachute Regiment circle.
    I also have the then and now books on Arnhem which are really interesting and of course Cornelius Ryan a bridge too far.

Quote by davesap250 View Post
    You should read: It never snows in September. Taken from the point of the Germans. Describes how hard the fighting was.Some of the Germans had fought on the Eastern front and said they had never known fighting like at Arnhem.

You are right it is a bit like the Alamo on Rourkes drift. It is very much clebebrated amongst the Parachute Regiment circle.