Adlermilitaria - Top
Display your banner here

88 mm Flak Gun

Article about: This 88 can be found outside of the Palm Springs Aviation museum in California. It was imported from England and was thought to have been used in the coastal defense of France. A pretty cool

?

Default 88 mm Flak Gun

This 88 can be found outside of the Palm Springs Aviation museum in California. It was imported from England and was thought to have been used in the coastal defense of France. A pretty cool artillery piece to see up close.
    Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture 88 mm Flak Gun   88 mm Flak Gun  

88 mm Flak Gun  

?

Default Re: 88 mm Flak Gun

Looks great..Thanks for the pictures always nice to see such items photographed...thanks for sharing. Cheers Terry

One of the most devastating weapons looking all peaceful!

Great pic !

Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

Yup, always paid to be on the blunt end of that thing rather than the pointy end!

I'd be curious to see the effects of this beast on a modern tank.

?

The 88 was lethal on period tanks!

(only posted the pic for effect. I dont really know what hit this one, but seldom have I seen a tank so ripped apart).
    Attached Images Attached Images 88 mm Flak Gun 

Quote by KradSpam View Post
    I'd be curious to see the effects of this beast on a modern tank.
    Short answer is not a lot.

The Germans in North Africa provided armour piercing ammunition (Panzergranate) for the 88mm flak guns. Penetration of the 88mm, expressed in millimetres of armour plate that could be penetrated at 30 degrees from vertical, was reported by the Germans as:
    Range Penetration
    100 m = 98 mm
    500 m = 93 mm
    1000 m = 87 mm
    1500 m = 80 mm
    2000 m = 72 mm