Great Militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

First model

Article about: I am working on my first model and I am new to this hobby so some help would be welcomed. I got a 1/72 scale model for Christmas of a Tiger II and I am thnking about making it with a "a

Default First model

I am working on my first model and I am new to this hobby so some help would be welcomed. I got a 1/72 scale model for Christmas of a Tiger II and I am thnking about making it with a "ambush" style paint. Unfortunatley I dont have very
    much model paint so I mixed up 3 different colors for the project.

A few questions I had ...
    Is this an ideal size for modeling? (1/72)
    Should I worry about painting the small features such as vents and shovels appropriatley when doing a camo paint?
    With camo what insignia would be on the tank? (number, eblems, etc)

Thanks for the help Ill post pictures as I make progress if its not a complete failure ...

?

Default Re: First model

1/72 scale does'nt really allow you a great deal of scope when painting a model, although experienced model makers can and do terrific paint jobs in that scale, the larger the model the more accurate you can make the camo, its equipment etc because of the detail involved, when painting a tank camo pick one that was a recognised scheme and not one made up, most armoured paint jobs were done in relation to the theatre of operations they were fighting in

Thanks I thought it was just me when I opened it I imagined it to be about 2x the size . I tried to start an ambush camo pattern but Im not that great at painting yet...

Model building is good therapy, untill you get so frustrated you throw it against a wall and start drinking.......which is even better therapy! Happy New Year!!!!!!!

I've built a few model kits over the years - 1/35th scale is
    a good size with plenty of realistic detailing........
    Regards,

Steve.

?