Militaria-Reisig & Antiquitäten - Top
Display your banner here

Polish Wz. 31 helmet

Article about: First of all, hello I'm a newbie with a question: WW2 RARE POLISH ARMY HELMET 1939, AFTER BATTLE CONDITION CHEAP INK STAMP INSIDE | eBay I realise the helmet is in really poor condition, but

Default Polish Wz. 31 helmet

First of all, hello I'm a newbie with a question:

WW2 RARE POLISH ARMY HELMET 1939, AFTER BATTLE CONDITION CHEAP INK STAMP INSIDE | eBay

I realise the helmet is in really poor condition, but can anything be done to halt the rusting or is it too far gone? I'm not too fussed about doing anything to it in terms of restoration or painting, but how quickly is it liable to fall appart in this state? Presumably too late to try sandblasting some of the worst rust off without destroying it?

Sorry if I posted in the wrong place, feel free to move the thread.

If you sandblasted it i think you would have more holes than helmet, gently scrub any loose rust off it and give it a spray with WD 40 or a thin layer of beeswax. Welcome BTW!...

I suspected that might be the case...thanks for confirming. I'm guessing putting some sort of coating on it as you suggest would at least slow down the rusting process somewhat?

Yup keep it in a dry place too and it'll slow down the decay!...

I'm rather ignorant when it comes to these things, how long would the lifespan be of something like that assuming it was treated and left alone on a dry shelf for viewing? 20 Years? 50?

It is of quite poor condition, however still nice example. You can clean it with e.g. Evapo-Rust (or something like this to remove corrosion) or just using the steel brush with WD40 (but in this case it will not remove the rust totally). Condition will not be excellent – edges will be rough and sharp, but in my opinion not significant holes would appear.