Griffin Militaria - Top
Display your banner here

1919 design emasculated Polish cap eagle?

Article about: Dear fellow collectors, I am rather new to the supremely interesting field of beautiful Polish Republic and Polish Armed Forces in the West cap eagles, so I hope you will forgive me should t

?

Default 1919 design emasculated Polish cap eagle?

Dear fellow collectors, I am rather new to the supremely interesting field of beautiful Polish Republic and Polish Armed Forces in the West cap eagles, so I hope you will forgive me should this question sound uninteresting or obvious.

Am I right in assuming that this is a 1919 design Polish cap eagle, with the crown cut off (presumably by early post-war Polish communist forces?

1919 design emasculated Polish cap eagle?1919 design emasculated Polish cap eagle?

Cheers!

GC

?

Yes, you are right . It is the pre-war eagle, with cutting crown.

Never pleasant seeing irreparably damaged militaria, nor the memories of an oppressive occupation. But it remains a testament to history.

Regards,
    Tony
    All thoughts and opinions expressed are those of my own and should not be mistaken for medical and/or legal advice.

"Tomorrow hopes we have learned something from yesterday." - John Wayne

?

Thank you dear Tomek for your identification and thank you dear A.J. Zawadzki for your further comment. I indeed very much agree, history has often painful and sad ways to remind us of dark periods, but that history remains nonetheless something worth studying and understanding - hence my interest for this piece and for the sad story it tells.

Quote by caiogc View Post
    . . . but that history remains nonetheless something worth studying and understanding - hence my interest for this piece and for the sad story it tells.
    Well stated

Regards,
    Tony
    All thoughts and opinions expressed are those of my own and should not be mistaken for medical and/or legal advice.

?