Military Antiques Stockholm - Top
Display your banner here
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Is it a Polish battledress?

Article about: I bought this battle dress blouse some time ago in England. It looks like an original 1945 issue (at least smells like it has spent 70 years in the humid basement) although I am not an exper

?

Default Is it a Polish battledress?

I bought this battle dress blouse some time ago in England. It looks like an original 1945 issue (at least smells like it has spent 70 years in the humid basement) although I am not an expert. It has some collar patches removed, there are red threads on the shoulders and a hole after some badge. Can somebody help me identify if it's original 1945 BD? Is it possible it was once used by Polish Armed Forces in the West? I will be very thankful for help.

Pics:
    Battle dress 1945 w Muzeum Kretoperz w MyViMu.com

Hello Esco and welcome to the forum.

The tunic you have linked is a British Pattern 1940 Battledress. Yes its original but dated very late in the war so actual use in WWII unlikely, although this is definitely the type of tunic issued to Polish soldiers fighting out of the UK (In Italy for example). The name 'Zarzo' appears to be written on it? Is there any other markings/numbers?

For future posts, try to upload the actual pics onto the forum, or take photos of the tunic in your possession (since you own it), as the link will disappear eventually, and the post will not be useful.

Click to enlarge the picture Click to enlarge the picture Is it a Polish battledress?  

?

Thank you for quick reply and warm welcome

I am happy I made a good purchase. Now it is just need to find original set of patches and badges to bring this baby back to life. It would be good to find out who was (is?) the mysterious "Zarzo". Unfortunately there are no other marks on BD.

Btw. I can't find an option attach pictures, maybe it's because I am using a mobile device?

Quote by Esco View Post