Rg-militaria - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Bf-109

Article about: Many LW aircraft types had this spiral art on the spinner. I have seen images of a Spitfire and some modern aircraft with it too. I think Eric is correct, it indicates movement of the prop a

Default Re: Bf-109

Many LW aircraft types had this spiral art on the spinner. I have seen images of a Spitfire and some modern aircraft with it too.

I think Eric is correct, it indicates movement of the prop as do the yellow prop tips on RAF aircraft
    Nick
    "In all my years as a soldier, I have never seen men fight so hard." - SS Obergruppenfuhrer Wilhelm Bittrich - Arnhem

?

Quote by Danmark View Post
    At warm-up or taxiing speeds the spiral is clearly visible - less so obviously at full throttle so I would concur that this was to minimise a messy incident.
    The same reason is valid for the yellow painted prop tips on allied fighters and bombers.

A well known Aussie golfer, Jack Newton found out the hard way about spinning props back in 1983 ( lost one arm, one eye and severe injuries but he survived )

Dan

....and more recently, the horrific Lauren Scruggs incident
    http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2012...n_1215496.html

Gday Fella's
    After a heap of page shuffeling this is what I have found.
    There are four main trains of thought re "spiralschnauze" designs on ww2 German aircraft,
    1.Personal or Staffel preference
    2.Ground crew safety
    3. Bird strike
    3.Optical deception for Allied air gunners.
    I have always thought it was a fighter pilot/Staffel thingo but I am tending to lean towards the later of the four.
    The design was used post 1942 and on mostly on fighter types.I have images of 109G's and up (with the larger spinner) and FW190's using this as well as a Macchi MC202 of JG100 (fighter school airframe).