Combat-relics.com - Top
Display your banner here
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tropenhelm, real or reproduction?

Article about: Hey guys i've recently met a WWII collector and amongst the items he's selling i found this Afrika Korps Tropenhelm (i think, im not an expert) im feeling like buying it. Inspite of it, im a

?

Thanks for the clarification. I've never collected these, so my knowledge is limited. I was always under the impression these were called pith helmets and the tan ,canvas ones , I thought were troppenhelms. I guess we learn new stuff all the time! This is why I love this forum,
    Thanks,
    Dean.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement Tropenhelm, real or reproduction?
    P
    Many

I'd still find it irresistible to Not try to reach in and push out the dent with my hand...
    You see so Many of these sun helmets with these dents-no doubt from most of them being unissued and being stacked and stored for years.
    William

"Much that once was, is lost. For none now live who remember it."

Quote by Dean View Post
    Thanks for the clarification. I've never collected these, so my knowledge is limited. I was always under the impression these were called pith helmets and the tan ,canvas ones , I thought were troppenhelms. I guess we learn new stuff all the time! This is why I love this forum,
    Thanks,
    Dean.
    Not a problem Dean and perhaps it might be best if we started calling any helmet of this type a sun helmet as that would encompass all the variations that are seen but would make it obvious to all as to what was being discussed. The German 1st pattern sun helmets were made of cork as were the Italian versions, though in the earlier period the Germans also used pith, whilst the Italians also used wicker throughout and without taking them apart it can be difficult to see what they are made from.
    Regards,

Jerry

Whatever its just an opinion.

Quote by Wagriff View Post